Cars in India | Bikes in India | Popular Cars | Scooters | Commercial | Auto News | Auto Expo

Cars » Mid Size Cars » Tata Motors Cars » Tata Indigo » Review on Tata Indigo

Review on Tata Indigo


NAME : Vijai K, Manama, Bahrain (bahrain)
POSTED ON : Monday, January 09, 2012 at 07:06:44
REVIEW :its good ia going to buy vere soon good mileage


NAME : Ravendra, Hyderabad, ap (India)
POSTED ON : Tuesday, November 01, 2011 at 05:56:49
REVIEW :I own a Tata Indigo LX dicor bought in sep-2007. It's running good (till now). It has few manufacturing defects like sticky dashboard, engine oil leak from body will there be any warranty for the above mentioned issues


NAME : Shiv, Bangalore, (India)
POSTED ON : Monday, January 04, 2010 at 08:18:40
REVIEW : I own a Tata Indigo bought in 2006. It's running good (till now) though not so good with A/C. It has few (that I know) manufacturing defects like melting dashboard, rusting body parts, leaking dickey to name a few. I am not sure whether there are more such problems. Tata has to improve a lot to match with international brands. Otherwise it makes no sense introducing new models every year. Everything is going to add up to their customer complaints very soon.

NAME : Archana Mukherjee, Faridabad, Haryana (India)
POSTED ON : Monday, October 26, 2009 at 13:00:18 Wednesday, November 04, 2009 at 00:52:22
REVIEW : After the cases of NANO catching fire and the case of Mr. Anshuman, it seems that TATA MOTORS are struggling under critical technical starvation and are under tremendous pressure to NOT ACCEPT THE FLAWS. While Tata Motors are committed to provide the best quality at the most affordable price, the quality control & Servicing Deptts. top officials are simply taking their heavy pay packets and sleep in the AC cabins/cars/homes, without addressing the customers grievances. There are several other incidences of TATA cars catching fire and bearing the pain of watching their hard earned money in flames. Can anyone in TATA help these sufferers to overcome their agony????

NAME : kuthbudeen noor mohammed <noor_kuthbudeen@yahoo.com> chennai, tamil nadu (indian)
POSTED ON : Monday, October 26, 2009 at 13:00:18
REVIEW : hi i need i tata indigo & colour with a/c


NAME : Dennis sumaru, Melbourne, Victoria (Australia)
POSTED ON : Friday, October 09, 2009 at 05:46:19
REVIEW : Reading comments by Tata owners,it seems like Tata group have to learn lot about customer care and speedy service. Quality is crucial for future trust. Some one at Tata should take ownership of these complains.If you were thinking about launching your business overseas,you better forget it. maybe back to the drawing board. just see how chinese are advancing.Can India match???? i dont think so.

Dennis. Melb Australia


NAME : Anshuman, Mumbai, Maharashtra (India)
POSTED ON : Friday, September 04, 2009 at 15:04:34
REVIEW : I want to bring your kind attention Towards a big product default in Tata Indico car manufactured by your company. any car met with an accident like this is a big product failure and when you are going to make a history by launching many new projects I just want to bring your attention Towards this so that you can rectify this error.

TATA indigo LX purchased in 2005 caught fire while coming back from a small drive. Me and my wife , my little daughter and my brother were returning from a very small drive on August 15th,2009. we have a TATA Indigo purchased in 2005 from Ratlam MP. Now we are in mumbai. The first one year was fine but after that we are spending some 25-30 k every year to maintain the car at its best. On august 15 th when we were returning from drive and paring our car in our appartments parking lot we saw that smoke started coming out from the leftside of the bonnet. I was unable to open the bonne tand I could see that fire is coming out. I asked my watchmen to put water on bonnet but that was failed.fire was not in our control. then we have used three fire extinguisher but that are also failed then we have to called up fire brigade to control this fire. By the great help of people around we have controlled the fire but the scene was heartbreking, my cars was literally under the fire.

We have called up the fire brigaede as so many other cars were also in parking lot, we know that our car has gone but we just want to avoid major accident as if this car will burst all other car will also affect and this can become a major accident

But it was too late. All the parts under bonnet burned out, including Pump, engine etc..! Finally after the huge rescue efforts we could control the fire without spreading to cabin or to diesel tank. Later I called up the service center guys and they came down to the spot with a recovery van and took the vehicle back to the workshop. Now they have estimated a sum of 6 lacs to rebuild it!!

The reason for the fire break out is still a mystery. Even the workshop guys are not able to find. They are telling it could be short ciruit.

Can anyone tell me that wahat was that....my whole family was on risk.....If this could be on the way...then what happened all battery operated things will stopped and we would not be able to come out.....I have my whole family with me...I dnt think then i will be able to drive that car again...i am scared....How i will believe on your manufactured products...

Car will be fine afterhuge expense but tell me who will expand 6 lacs on 6 lacs car....and can anyone pay the trauma we have faced....

NAME : A.N. SAKLANI <saklanis@gmail.com> MUMBAI, MAHARASHTRA (INDIA)
POSTED ON : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 at 01:51:06
REVIEW : I bought a TATA INDIGO on the 5th of FEBRUARY2005.Within months the dashboard started to look dirty.I went to various service centres all TATA authorized and all said that it cannot be cleaned only replaced,as the plastic material used in the dashboard is of an inferior quality and cannot be cleaned.Over the period of time it became dirtier and now the dashboard looks like it has been dipped in oil slick and is so dirty that I feel ashamed to ask anybody to sit in my vehicle.We enquired from various Indigo owners and all said that either cover it with material or change it.This is material defect and TATA should replace it free of cost.

NAME : rehan, hyderabad, a.p (india)
POSTED ON : Monday, July 20, 2009 at 12:28:19
REVIEW : I have Tata Indigo SX of 2005 model. It is giving the mileage about 18 to 20 per litre. It is very good.

NAME : AJAY .S , mysore, karanataka (INDIA)
POSTED ON : Saturday, July 11, 2009 at 12:55:37
REVIEW : Sir, I bought a second hand Indigo LS at Mysore. The car is in good shape, i had taken it to your severs center at Mysore, to change oil and get the car checked up, in the end i had to pay big bill fore no work done. I am very sorry that the service I got was so bad. In the end I had to take my car to private workshop. My humble request is please see that the service, be good we are willing to pay. We want good service please tell your service center at Mysore to give us good service, service center.

NAME : Smit T. Patel ,Nadiad, (India)
POSTED ON : Friday, December 19, 2008 at 08:43:43
REVIEW : A superb car with good mileage within limited prices.

NAME : George ,Mumbai, Maharashtra (India)
POSTED ON : Wednesday, November 26, 2008 at 23:45:48
REVIEW : I bought my Tata INDIGO GLS bearing registration number MH43N 7882, in September 2006 from Fortune Motors, Mumbai. I agree by the views expressed by many. Its AC is not OK, neither is the average. I bought it trusting the TATA house. In addition the services promised is not satisfactory. The cars headlights were WATER Logged after the Mumbai rains. I felt that this is uncommon, yet the service center felt otherwise. I had to dish out Rs 4000 approx for changing it. I will advice new car aspirants NOT to go in for this model. I also feel that the Maruti SX4 could be a better bet. It doesn't really matter shelling out a lac or more, rather than take all the trouble later on.

NAME : Moorthy ,Chennai, (India)
POSTED ON : Sunday, October 26, 2008 at 13:22:17
REVIEW : Whatever, shiv, told stands true for chennai Concord motors also. They have never rectified all the complaints in any service, i had to go to them repeatedly. Also, after every service, they will create new issue to my car, Indigo XL. Also, in my prev. service, they changed spare for 300 Rs., and the labour charge they put was 2500 Rs.

NAME : ROMIL ,LUDHIANA, PUNJAB (INDIA)
POSTED ON : Sunday, October 12, 2008 at 05:00:21
REVIEW : I Have Purchased a TATA INDIGOLX on 12 feb 2007.WHICH IS AHVING THE REGISTRATION NO PB10CA 9319 PURCHASED FROM GARYSON MOTOR LDHTHE CAR CLUTCH IS SO HARD THAT AFTER  DRIVE AN HALF HOUR THE LEG START PAINING I JUST TAKE MY CAR AT THE WORKSHOP I.E GARYSON MOTOR THEY SAID THAT YOUR WEARRANTY HAS BEEN EXPIRED NOW IF YOU WANT REPAIR IT THAN COST AROUND 6000 RS. BUT WE DRIVE ONLY 25000 KM IN ONE AND HALF YEAR SO PLZ GIVE ME WARRANTY FOR THIS SO THAT I CAN HAPPILY DRIVE MY CAR

NAME : Ayaan Khan, Mumbai, Maharashtra (India)
POSTED ON : Saturday, September 20, 2008 at 07:53:28
REVIEW : Tata indigo is comfortable car but in summer its ac troubled me. I have bought this car in 2007 june and im looking for indigo cs.

NAME : K.K.Bhandari,Faridabad, Haryana (India)
POSTED ON : Friday, July 25, 2008 at 05:27:55
REVIEW : I have one Indigo XL Classic III car having registration No. DL3CAC-8320 purchased from M/s. Sanya Automobiles Pvt. Ltd., Defence Colony, New Delhi on 19.12.2007. 29th December, 2007. The engine of the Car stopped working and had to be Towed to Sanya Motors Workshop. I had to wait on the road side for 2½ hrs waiting for TATA help and no arrangement for my transport was made by TATA. During 1st week of March, 2008, the engine again stopped running. Help line of M/s. Sanya Motors was contacted who advised me to tap at 2-3 different places on the engine. The engine started running after tapping. I had to wait on the road side for one hour. 9th March, 2008 - The engine again stopped running and the vehicle had to be Towed to M/s. Sanya Motors Workshop. I had to wait on the road side for three hours. Vehicle was received back on 10th March, 2008. I was promised transport from TATA Workshop but after reaching Workshop I had to wait for one hour then I was asked to avail the facility of help line (TATA SUMO) 30th June, 2008 Vehicle lost its pick up while driving. The vehicle was taken to M/s. Sanya Motors Workshop and the defect was checked up/ repaired and vehicle was received back in the evening. 7th July, 2008 - The engine did not start. Report lodged with M/s. Sanya Motors Workshop. Vehicle had to be Towed to TATA Workshop on 8th July, 2008. The vehicle was received back on 16th July, 2008. No arrangement for my transport was made by TATA. 19th July, 2008 - Vehicle lost its pick up and gained pick up after 10-15 minutes. This problem was faced twice in one hour. Vehicle was sent to M/s. Sanya Motors Workshop on 21st July, 2008 (20th July, 2008 being Sunday) and received back on 22nd July, 2008. During this month till date (i.e. upto 22nd July, 2008 this vehicle remained in TATA Workshop for repairs for 10 days and with me for 12 days for my use. This is the position after spending Rs.7.00 lakh on purchase of this vehicle. Matter was earlier taken up with Regional Office customer Care Support North TATA Motors with the request to replace this vehicle as it has some inherent manufacturing defect as is clear from above. I have been informed through e-mail dated 14th July, 2008 that it is beyond the purview of TATA’s Policy to replace the vehicle and has ensured satisfactory performance of the vehicle through service net work as per Company’s Policy. Every time the vehicle comes out of workshop, I am assured of its better performance in future but it frequently breaks down and this time on receiving the vehicle after 8 days from Workshop on 16th July, 2008, the vehicle again started giving problem on 19th July, 2008 i.e. after 2 days. I feel TATA is running its Research and Design Unit at the cost of its customers by selling defective vehicles and then doing experiments on it. With this bitter experience, I have started feeling that I made Himalayan blunder of my life by purchasing a car from TATA who only boasts for Taking Care of its customers whereas reality is contrary to this. When a luxury car of TATAs like TATA INDIGO is giving so much of trouble due to manufacturing defects, I do not know how much common man is going to suffer because of your forthcoming low budget small car “NANO” for which so much publicity is being done for the last few months. In case no immediate action is taken to replace my car having inherent manufacturing defects, I may be left with no alternative but to approach the Consumer Court.

NAME : Shiv, Bangalore, (India)
POSTED ON : Monday, June 16, 2008 at 05:33:16
REVIEW : After sales service at Tata Concorde, Bangalore is pathetic. They don't even verify whether the defects mentioned by the customer is completely rectified. For each defect mentioned I have to run around the technicians to rectify them. Added to this, they create additional problems after every service.

NAME : Shobhit Garg,Chandigarh, CH (India)
POSTED ON : Friday, May 30, 2008 at 16:26:16
REVIEW : I had bought Tata Indigo LS in Mar 2008 from Joshi Autozone, Chandigarh. Though I have driven the car just for 2400Km, my feeling is that it is a value for money! Petrol prices are soaring like anything....Indigo LS offers respite by providing luxury at minimum expenditure. I am getting a mileage of 18KM with AC.....on highways even more!!! I initially had a problem with rear shock absorber in my car which was thankfully replaced instantly during first service under warranty by Joshi Autozone. Joshi was not only good during sales but also on the service front. Coming to the driving experience....seating is comfortable and less bumpy with good shock absorbers....boot space is gr8.....initial torque is a bit poor....interiors are OK....new headlights/taillights look good.....good airconditioning....about maintenance it would be too early to say. Look for a review again after I have more driving experience with this car. My suggestion to people who are looking for a spacious, comfortable and economical car within 4-6Lacs is to go for INDIGO LS.....for sure this car would not dishearten you!

NAME : Aditya Vikram Gupta , Ludhiana, Punjab (India)
POSTED ON : Friday, April 11, 2008 at 10:45:16
REVIEW : I had financed my tata indigo from tata motor finance, i wanted to forclose my loan prematurely and tata motor finance has run me ragged. They have taken full payment from me but even after 2 months they have yet to give me N.O.C. Somebody please help me. I know i have made a mistake and i promise to never repeat it.

NAME : Tarun Verma, New Delhi, New Delhi (India)
POSTED ON : Thursday, April 03, 2008 at 19:46:01
REVIEW : Hi friends. I am planning to buy this car (indigo Lx) but after reading the reviews i am really confused and surprised that though it is not a bad car at all however the after sale service is shocking !!! i am amazed what tata is doing about their dealers . i myself went with my cousin and thats true the dealers after selling the car treat you like is if the existing customers hold no value to the company. It is a request to the company, please do something before the image of tata gets completely spoiled.

NAME : Attar,Patiala, Punjab (India)
POSTED ON : Friday, March 07, 2008 at 10:16:44
REVIEW : This car is not so good .. so the company should not produce any further models . and sit at home.. thats all ..

NAME : Jatin Chawla, Delhi, Delhi (India)
POSTED ON : Thursday, January 31, 2008 at 05:54:29
REVIEW : I bought TATA INDIGO from PAWA MOTORS,DELHI ON 25Jul'07 .On 29th Jan'08 when i was driving (at speed around 15Km/hr due to Traffic) suddenly the power steering & Brakes of car got jammed.It was my luck that at that time car was at a slow speed but if the speed would be higher then it could cause a major accident. The reason for this was breakage of Alternator belt as it has just crossed 15,000km and the warranty of this belt (As told by Pawa Motors service manager) is 15,000kms and my car had run 15020Kms.Just 20km more was the reason of this Breakage???Amazing


NAME : Andrew, CapeTown, (South Africa)
POSTED ON : Sunday, January 20, 2008 at 15:21:08
REVIEW : I have a Townhouse in C.T. and purchased a used 2006 Tata Indigo. i must be honest and share that it is a piece of junk. I also own Toyota and Honda and it does not compare, Tata has a long way to go to match the quality of these two giants in the auto business. If anyone one wants this piece of crap let me know you can have it.

NAME : Palanivel.S, Madurai, TN (India)
POSTED ON : Saturday, December 22, 2007 at 13:24:20
REVIEW : Very bad service after sales


NAME : Rahul Gupta,Delhi, Delhi (India)
POSTED ON : Saturday, December 22, 2007 at 01:32:38
REVIEW : I being a proud owner of tata vehicles since 1992 (tata estate) trusted in tata product and bought several vehicles year after year from Tata. But this time  when i bought this tata xeta gls bearing chasis number -600631bszp25564 with registration number  -dl3cay 2196 on july 28th 2007 from vivek automobiles from delhi. All my patience and trust on tata motors is lost as since the day of purchase i am facing problems with this car.despite repeated visits to various tata workshops no relief is being given. Even my personal visit to Mr. Tarun Grover in your gurgaon regional office was in vain. Despite his promise to solve the problem  nothing has been done yet. My vehicle with current km's 9938 , is still lying with sanya motors for repairs from the lastseven days with job card number jc-sanya-ok-0708-010849 dated 16-12-07. earlier a month back itwas with them for 15days. Since purchase if you please check the job cards of this vehicle with various workshops, you can very well find the same pickup problems every time since i bought this vehicle. I beg to ask you did i purchased this vehicle to drive for my personal use or just to visit your various workshops around delhi. This is hell driving this vehicle now and i humbly request you now to take back this vehicle of yours and refund me my money back as i have no trustover tata motors any more.
Hope to get some relief this time.....

NAME : Vinod,Bangalore, (india)
POSTED ON : Friday, December 07, 2007 at 12:33:24
REVIEW : Tata cars are just a hoax for Mr. Ratan Tata to make money. Period. It looks to me like the Tatas are selling motorised bullock carts on Indian Roads!! More aptly the Indigo should have been named as Tata 103 or something inline with their naming convention for Trucks. You visit a service centre and you are always wondering how the car will feel after this service atleast. God forbid Tatas are now toying with hybrid technology. God save the customers. I have interactde with many Tata dealerships in Bangalore and you knwo what NONE of their own employees own Tata cars! They drive Marutis and Hyundais themselves. So much for their own confidence on the product they sell.

NAME : Ekjot Singh Oberoi , Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh (India)
POSTED ON : Friday, November 30, 2007 at 03:50:11
REVIEW : It is the most comfortablecar


NAME : Patel Abhiraj, Ahmedabad, Gujrat (India)
POSTED ON : Wednesday, October 31, 2007 at 12:31:39
REVIEW : Verry good i like it vear much


NAME : Amit Singh , Delhi, Delhi (India)
POSTED ON : Wednesday, October 31, 2007 at 06:12:12
REVIEW : Excellent car World best car fetures with outstanding performance Hat's off to Tata's


NAME : Ashok Kumar , Mumbai, Maharashtra (India)
POSTED ON : Tuesday, September 11, 2007 at 08:40:49
REVIEW : I have a TATA Indigo LS for the last 2 years. It is an excellent product with good average. Only issue is the service appointment time given and attention reqd are the weak points of the service dealers.

NAME : Yogita Sharma,Chandigarh, UT (India)
POSTED ON : Monday, September 10, 2007 at 00:49:54
REVIEW : I have still not bought this car but i was planning to do so. But before going to purchase I decided to study the reviews of owners and after reading , I came to decide that I will not buy this car. No doubt this a nice product launched by TATA. But the main problem is with dealers moreover I really dnt understand why tata comapny is not taking the cunstomers complaint seriously (u can check the reviews almost evry customer is complaining regarding dealerships, sericing problems). This ignorance can spoil the image of tata group in market. Because all the new readers (like me , who wants to know reviews of buyers) will definately got a negative impression. I request to tata please rectify the addressed dealers problmes. Because its not a big deal and by ignoring this you are loosing trust of your owners which is not at all good for a companys'development. Hope to see improvement in coming times.

NAME : Sushil Jain, Delhi, Delhi (India)
POSTED ON : Thursday, September 06, 2007 at 00:16:15
REVIEW : I Purchased this Tata Indigo Ls in Jan 2005. My car no. is DL 3C AF 3986. I dont want to make a full detailed problem story here as this space will be too less for that as i felt cheated within a few days of puchasing this SHIT vehicle. I am sorry i have to use this word but this car deserves that. From starting only i am spending atleast Rs 6000 per month on an average just for the maintainence. Almost each n every major part of this car has been changed atleast once. Pick up is bad, Ac is worse in summer, Suspension is changed twice in 2 years, shockers also been changed twice, oil pumb has been broken thrice, alternater is changed, engine rod has been repaired and changed countless times, battery has been changed once & it is giving problem again within 6 months of changing.etc etc etc. To add to that the service station people only know how make big big bills & dont bother to work on the vehicle. I have been cheated continuosly by all your authourised service centres like Siyaram Motors, G.T. Road delhi & Indicare , G.T. Road Delhi. These charge us heavily for the services and all & what we found out through a local mechanic after the service that the air filter is completely chocked as if it is not changed for months & we are being charged for the same numerous times. After all this please tell us who will be going to take this car again or a tata car again. Its not only me but cousin too is facing the same problem with his indigo. I will never suggest anybody to take this car. If possible i want to just throw this car away as i am just fed up. You please check is out and solve my problem for that u dont need to do much just check once in your records that how much i spent on this car's maintainence for the past 2.5 years you will come to know about my problem. Waiting for a response.

NAME : anoop,trivandrum, kerala (india)
POSTED ON : Friday, April 13, 2007 at 13:51:12
REVIEW : I am a really unsatisfied customer of tata,not because of the car but by the dealer(st antonys kottayam) very unethical dealing which spoiled tata image,i will other advice pls go 4 another dealer if u can anoop

NAME : Sarabjeet Johar (sarabjeetjohar@yahoo.com) Kanpur, U.P. (India)
POSTED ON : Friday, April 06, 2007 at 07:51:06
REVIEW : I'm havin an indigo LS model bought in DEC 2006. It is an economical luxurious car with really good mileage ( 15-18 per lit ) and i am really happy to own this TATA product.

NAME : Dr.T.P.Thankappan,Alappuzha, Kerala (India)
POSTED ON : Tuesday, April 03, 2007 at 13:22:51
REVIEW : I have an indigo lx bought 3 years back and still running fine. I get 16km/l of diesel. The only bad point is lack of pulling below 2000 rpm which interferes with driving at times. The gear ratio could have been revised to fit with the pulling power of the engine. Except for the above it is a fine vehicle to drive especially at high speeds even above 100km and is stable and no body rolls. I have driven three other vehicle one ambassodor, santro,honda city but i love this vehicle for the stability and reliability. I wonder why the gear ratio is not improved and the puling power also to be improved. I drive 80 km per day daily without much difficulty.

NAME : Kamal Yadav, Delhi, Delhi (India)
POSTED ON : Saturday, March 31, 2007 at 00:15:14
REVIEW : I liked Tata Indigo and was instrumental in buying three cars. But the poor technical know how at Nawab Motors, it makes lot of noise while driving (maybe from brakes or shockers or somewhere else which engineers said it is normal). It fails every time at pollution check. After spending 5 Lac, i think Maruti or Hyundai are better options. At service centres you are treated like taxi drivers.

NAME : Nitin Shanbhogue, Mangalore, Karnataka, (India)
POSTED ON : Saturday, March 24, 2007 at 04:41:37
REVIEW : I'm havin an indigo GLX model bought in nov 2005. It is a good car, but the only problem is it mileage. Its about 11per litre. It is the problrm with my car. Moreover the car runs about 60-80km per day.

NAME : Dr. Jignesh Trivedi, Anand, Gujarat (India)
POSTED ON : Friday, January 19, 2007 at 06:11:30
REVIEW : I purchased tata indigo lx model diesel version from Progressive car, Anand, Gujarat State on 11-12-2006. Its a good mileage car and having good space and comforts too. I think its a better option for someone who loves diesel models and its completely budgetary version there to make you feel that your heart is in your car.

NAME : Deric, Kottayam, Kerala (India)
POSTED ON : Saturday, January 13, 2007 at 01:49:25
REVIEW : Hi,
We in the family rarely use the car (tata indigo LS), as justified by the mileage logged: 9k in 3 years. But these are a few points I'd like to put forward.

Cons:
(a). poor fit and finish, small force suffice to remove the rubber cladding in the sides, the lock to the storage space came loose, and rattling noise, fixed after service.
(b). dull interiors
(c). the fuel gauge indicator unreliable, digital would be better.
(d). high dashboard cause inconvenience to beginners, the left side rammed into a road barrier and the transaxle broke loose, fixed under insurance. This could be attributed to driver mistake.
(e). lacks punch at low speeds.

pros:
(a). good mileage, 16 to 20 kmpl.
(b). excellent paint work.
(c). huge spaces all throughout.
(d). good composure at high speeds, is a highway car.
Upon reading the previous reviews, I was surprised by the complaints of other indigo owners. This is my first car, but personally i think its a no frills economy car. But I do agree with the servicing dealerships being not that good.

NAME : Wizardofid, Bangalore, Karnataka (India)
POSTED ON : Thursday, January 04, 2007 at 12:48:43
REVIEW : I've been test driving it with a view Towards purchase. I've found that when I drive it at different places and different versions (LX, LS, Marina) I get totally different and inconsistent performances for what is essentially the same engine. This led me to believe that Tata's has no manufacturing consistency and you have to consider yourself lucky to get a good piece.
General observation was that it is very very underpowered at the low RPMs, i.e. when you start off. I think it would be pretty underpowered on the highway too especially in an overtaking situation. The new facelift makes the product look much uglier than the original Italian designers intended and now they've raised the price. Tata's appears to be shooting itself in the feet repeatedly. I'm pretty confused about my purchase decision now.

NAME : Mr. Satish Anaokar, Mumbai, Maharashtra (India)
POSTED ON : Thursday, December 28, 2006 at 12:25:05
REVIEW : I own an indigo which is economical, good in mileage, comfortable and spacious for a family of four and most luxurious for middle class.

NAME : Paulwin , Chennai, Tamil nadu (India)
POSTED ON : Sunday, September 24, 2006 at 14:15:25
REVIEW : Wat a style !

NAME : Mathew
POSTED ON : 7th August 2006
REVIEW : Respected sir,
I have the ownership of TATA Indigo LX (starry gray colour).It was delivered on 06-01-06 from kulathungal motors Thiruvananthapuram.
On first service time the fading of headlights and some burning in the bonnet paint due to corrosion were informed at the service centre (Kulathungal Motors).Then they said that they were responsible to change the bonnet and fender at the next service time (warranty).
During the second service time they changed two headlights and painted the bonnet as well as fender. Then my car was subjected for painting from the date (21-08-06 to 01-09-06) that means nearly for two weeks at Kulathungal Motors. In that period first they painted the bonnet with an unmatched paint. With my complaint they changed the bonnet and painted it again with that unmatched paint. Again I complained for the same. Because of that they choose matched paint but there is no finishing (ie, there is an appearance of alternate colour change due to the improper painting) I also noticed the peeling of paint at the car's top mounting and Beading colour faded .while traveling there is some abnormal sound from the front seat. Clutch is not comfortable to use.

NAME : I.K. Rungta
POSTED ON : 7th jun 2006
REVIEW : HI
I purchased one TATA Indigo SX (Diesel) from Classic Motor, Dhanbad about 8 month back, since I paid the money to Classic Motor, their behavior totally changed.
When I purchase the car the Gear Box, changing the gear was very loose and they assured me that when first/2nd service is done it will be okay, but 1st servicing is done and nothing has done, the clutch needs adjustment, there is sound in Dashboard, and I think while turning the car the wheel turns less, so while taking U turn I have to back the car once in spite of my request nothing done at first servicing, now my car has done about 10,000 km and I need to send this car for servicing and they will again wash the car and will take the service coupon for nothing.
The AC of the car is not working properly, when you run the AC at the top capacity you can feel some cool on front seat, I have made many complains and also sent my car but they did not even touch the AC system and said it is okay now.
When I drive the car on Highway, after 110 Km speed, the steering wheel shakes lightly, there is engine noise.
Before 1st servicing the pickup of the engine was good but after 1st servicing the pick of the car is very less now.
I think the absorber of the car is also not working properly.
I can say TATA Indigo car is not a bad car, good mileage, but their authorized dealer made the car really not bad but authorized service centers of Tata Motors are horrible. I had purchased this car about 8 months back it has done only less then 10,000 km. When I have to go other city I have to take my old Maruti Esteem instead of this new Indigo.
I advise TATA motor to start some Workshop as to how the after sales service is to be done. Or they can send their dealers to Maruti Udyod to learn how to do after sale service. THEIR AUTHORISE DEALER WAITS TILL THE WARRANTY EXPIRES AND WHEN THEY CAN CHARGE.
And I also request TATA Motor to read feedback of the customer and see why a customer is making complain.
I.K. Rungta


NAME : Chakravarty
POSTED ON : 9th may 2006
REVIEW : Hi,
I am owning Indigo GLX Petrol for the last 2 years.There is a huge transmission problem and the car jerks very badly at low rpm.Appear to be transmission as well as compression problems.
Except for the fact that the interiors are spacious and the height of seat very comfortable,this car is not at all a life time possession.
I was extremey unhappy with the way the Tata Motors (at Worli Naka) behaved with me when I took my car for the third free servicing.They are the original Tata servicing centre and if they were bad God Bless the other customers who go to franchisee outlets.They had a huge issue about doing any work on the extended guarantee for which I had paid extra (the 3rd year extended guarantee)
That guarantee is a hoax.When my first servicing became due at 6 months of purchase,I had only clocked 1500 Kms as I was away.The dealer at Delhi (Vasant Kunj-Autoquik) told me to come later after about 2 months after clocking close to 5000.This I did and thats it...my guarantee issues were at stake because of this and no fault of mine.Tata Motors say that they will do nothing on guarantee while I as a customer had no say .
Tata Indigo has a big technical snag in its transmission and the petrol car just drinks gas merrily.
My car is in excellent condition but now I want to sell it desperately. Thanks to behavious of TATA.
I have decided that not only will I never buy any Tata product,I will also educate my friends and distant friends and all my relatives against buying any Tata product.
These are very live and unhappy experiences with Tata motors.


NAME : Aravind BS
POSTED ON : 26th apr 2006
REVIEW : At 100+ kmph Feel it has less road grip ,Interiors are not bright and classy, Turbo should have been activated at lower RPMs.


NAME : P kulkarni
POSTED ON : 23rd apr 2006
REVIEW : I HAVE COME to a conclusion after great meticulous study and experience that TATA is totally meant to produce trucks & buses .Especially so ,because indigo shape and styling is not at all state-of-the-art;performance is just so-so and that to for a senior citizen only;looks of indigo and indica are same also the engine capacity (1400 C.C. IN BOTH) IS IDENTICAL ;.THIS CAR (INDIGO GLS/GLX/LS/LX HAS VERY LOW APPEAL AND PRIMARILY SOLD IN TODAY'S CAR MARKET FOR ONLY 2 DAMMN reasons:- cheap as compared to international brand rivals viz.honda/hyundai/toyota(who are hell bent on refinement & performance).2nd being that diesel option available along with spaciousness.Believe Me friends if you honestly consider performance of hyundai accent GLE OR hond city EXI OR MARUTI baleno ;only the most insane /mentally deficient person will buy a tata indigo (any model).Service personnals are reluctant even in displaying /demonstrating the showroom cars to aspiring customers .POOR tachnical know how of the service centre people at sanghi motors indore forced me and some associates of mine to just forget ever going for a tata product .WEiIndians are way behind the Koreans & JAPANESE IN TERMS OF QUALITY /REFINEMENT/SMOOTHNESS/APPEAL OF VAHICLES (atleast tatas have proved this).Deep insidew their heart ;people at TATAmotors genuinely know that they are delivering an inferior product to their own country men for no good reason .Only if you can't afford any of the internationally established brands (viz. TOYOTA-COROLLA,HONDA-CITY,HYUNDAI-ACCENT,FORD-FIESTA)SHOULD YOU WASTE YOUR MONEY IN THIS POOR INDIAN PRODUCT.Its a challenge from a genuine car-freak !!!


NAME : Paresh Paul
POSTED ON : 18th apr 2006
REVIEW : I have used Maruti Esteem, Ford Ikon and now Indigo. I have never seen such a car, its a shame to call this item a car.
I have wasted many crucial hours getting this car repaired in the 2.5 years that I have owned it.
The suspension is very bad, keeps making noise, so far not repaired. Day before it would have got in fire due to petrol leakage. The service dealer did not check the battery, leading to many probs.
Many such probs and I am shuttling between dealers trying to get it properly repaired.
I would like to know if I can register a consumer complaint for giving me a faulty car.


NAME : Harminder Singh
POSTED ON : 10th apr 2006
REVIEW : A very bad experience with tata. The engine was overhauled at 32000 kms and now again at 65000 kms. The car is more in the workshop than the road. The car is in warranty and you have to pay as anything that goes bad is not covered under warrwnty. Even the coolant bottle is not covered under 18months warranty. We thought of buying a world class car and landed in trouble with INDIGO LX


NAME : Mathew
POSTED ON : 1st apr 2006
REVIEW : Really happy with the car.
Its 2 years and 1 month old LS.
Done 52000 Kms till now.
Cons
1.Things replaced
a.Rear left wheel bearing after 1K.Replaced under warranty.
b.Front Left and right ball joints replaced at 35K.(warranty did not cover)
c.A/C knob cable broke around 10k.So it was stuck in one position.Took 2 weeks to get it replaced as it was not available with the dealer.(covered under warranty)
d.Both left and right rear wheel bearing were changed at 50k service.(warranty did not cover)
2.Gear shift little harder.But now used to it.
Pros
1.Powerful on highways
2.Solid suspension.
3.Engine still feels like new.
4.Low cabin noise especially compared to indica.
5.5 indians can travel comfortably.
6.Returns min 14 Km/l no matter how hopelessly you drive.Consistenly returns 17-19 on highways.
7.Good a/c
8.Charged 3100 Rs for 50K service
9.Huge Boot.
10.Original tyres(Bridgestones) are good for another 2-3K. True value for money car.It has a decent secondhand value too.


NAME : Jayakrishnan
POSTED ON : 30th mar 2006
REVIEW : I bought the Indigo LX (Diesel) four months back. Though it had the Tata name, I was somewhat concerned by the adverse perception about the car - about niggles and lack of refinement etc.
But since the day I test drove it I have fallen in love with it. Forget all the whining - it is a brilliantly put together value-for-money car. Pros:
1. Superbly nimble and takes the road brilliantly - amazingly well. Great ride quality.
2. Surprisingly well-powered, especially with the turbo and intercooler.
3. Superb mileage - I got 14.86 in crowded city driving and about 20 on the highway.
4. Superb A/C
5. Great boot, with lamp.
6. Great seats - don't feel long drives at all.
7. Absolutely wonderful suspension - three-link.
8. Equally good power steering
9. Some extremely thoughtful bells and whistles. Cons:
1. Gear - could be more refined, but once u get used to it , its fine.
2. Could be more refined over all.
Finally, a remarkable car for the price - incredible value for money. Go for it! Proud to own it.



MODELS OF TATA MOTORS CARS
MODEL TYPE
New Indica Ev2 Hatchback
Hatchback
Sedan Cars
Hatchback
Small Size
Small Size
Small size
Hatchback Cars
Premium-Cars
MUV
Sport Utility Vehicle
Mid-Size
Mid-Size
Sport Utility Vehicle
Sport Utility Vehicle
Mid-Size
Mid-Size
Mid-Size
Sport Utility Vehicle
Small size
Sport Utility Vehicle
Sport Utility Vehicle
Premium-Cars
Sedan Cars
Hatchback Cars
Small size
Tata Prima Sedan Cars
Tata Manza CS Sedan Cars
New Tata Safari Merlin Sport Utility Vehicle
Tata Nano EV Hatchback Cars
Tata Nano Europa Hatchback Cars
Tata Nano Hybrid Hatchback Cars
Tata Nano Plus Hatchback Cars
Indica Vista Ignis Hatchback Cars
Tata Elegante Sedan Cars
Tata Indigo Vista Mid Size Car


Indiamart

Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - Link to Us

Copyright © 1996-2014 IndiaMART InterMESH Ltd. All rights reserved.