Cars in India | Bikes in India | Popular Cars | Scooters | Commercial | Auto News | Auto Expo
or Post Buy Requirement

Two Wheelers  ››  Motorcycles  ››  TVS Motor  ››  TVS Star  ›› TVS Star Reviews

TVS Star Reviews


ANOOP PRASAD

Bangalore, Karnataka (India)
POSTED ON : Thursday, February 09, 2012 at 17:32:23
REVIEW : Hi Guys, I’m Anoop from Bangalore.TVS Star City 110 is an excellent bike. I have 2010 model, a purple color one . It has got a strong and powerful engine which is very reliable. The bike is compact but still gives the feel of a big bike. The self start has not given me any problem in the cold climate. But it’s better to use kick start if the engine is cold. It can easily catch up with few 125cc bikes like Honda Shine, Suzuki Slingshot and Hero Honda Super Splendor and Glamour siblings. The seating is very comfortable for city as well as long rides. You can easily control the bike even in high speeds even if there is negligible amount of vibration. The ride quality and handiling of this bike is simply superb. The top speed I have achived is 95kmph, fair enough for a 110cc bike. But it takes a hell lot of time to reach its top speed once it crosses 80kmph in the speedo. Normally I used to get a mileage anywhere between 58kmpl to 65KMPL (depending on the way I ride). It has eve! n given me 75kmpl+ few times. After I bought a car (Chevy Beat), I did not take much care of the bike. Once when I checked the mileage recently it was giving a mileage only ranging from 47kmpl to 52kmpl. I took it to a mechanic to check on this. He did the right turning for the engine. I filled petrol for Rs 50 when it went to reserve. The amount of petrol filled was 0.68ltrs. It went for 54kms until it went to the next reserve. So the mileage would be 54/0.68, the mileage I got was 79.4kmpl without hampering the pickup of the bike. It has done close to 12000kms now. I have not spent much on the maintance part. Only regular oil change and service. Apart from that I have changed the front break shoe once and the rear tyre which is necessary as time passes. Overall I am very happy with this bike.

arvind jadhav

pune, maharastra (india)
POSTED ON : Thursday, October 15, 2009 at 11:25:12
REVIEW : sir though it is not related to review of tvs star bike . im staying in shivajinagar im doing eng.third year production sir i want part time job in motar(4&2 wheelers ) reparing hat i'll got d experiences & money . sir kindly send me reply im waiting for it.

Venkey

Chandigarh, punjab (india)
POSTED ON : Monday, October 12, 2009 at 07:01:31
REVIEW : STAR CITY IS BEST BIKE IN 100CC. GOOD LOOK , POWER AND 85KMPL AND A Proud owner of a TVS Star Clty 2008 end, 110 model(black), which has done more then 16000 kms and still doing great.good bike , Decent pickup and good contol .

PANKAJ DUBEY

Indore, MP (India)
POSTED ON : Saturday, October 10, 2009 at 01:38:48
REVIEW : Really the STAR CITY is...the
star............ STAR HAI YAAR TU.........

aniket

Bhopal, MP (India)
POSTED ON : Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 03:06:17
REVIEW : the worst bike in the world

Harsha Vardhan

Hyderabad, Andhara Pradesh (India)
POSTED ON : Wednesday, June 10, 2009 at 00:23:37
REVIEW : I bought a TVS Star City in 2006, I am very happy with my bike I proudly say my bike gives me the best mileage than any other bike 73 Kmpl. I regularly give it for servicing and change Oil use BP Speed. Fine with the pickup. Few problems with wiring. My service station (Kiran Commercials. Hyd.) gives me good support at the time of servicing. Thanks to TVS.

Dr S S Sircar

Cuttack, Orissa (India)
POSTED ON : Saturday, November 29, 2008 at 03:48:36
REVIEW : The post sales service of sushil motors , link road cuttack is very, very poor & careless.The company should ensure that they should look into the matter and take appropriate action against the defaulters.Sushil motors never give the bill for the services  rendered to the customers.

R.Nagendren

Chennai, Tamil Nadu (India)
POSTED ON : Sunday, November 16, 2008 at 01:01:42
REVIEW : Tmodel; 1.good looking
2. good suspension
3.good brake
concern;1.Engine Noise
2.bad milage
3.bad picup
4.different Noise

Sunny Sharma

Chandigarh, UT (India)
POSTED ON : Tuesday, November 11, 2008 at 07:12:36
REVIEW : Tvs star city is very hopeless bike. It give 55/kmpl. I m very disappointed when i measure its average.I want 65 to 70 kmpl but it gives very low milage. I m very disappointed.

Jeremiah

Eldoret, Rift-valley (Kenya)
POSTED ON : Thursday, November 06, 2008 at 07:55:58
REVIEW : A lot of vibration and speed does not exceed 60 kph and use a lot of fuel it goes 40 kpl

Rahmath

Bangalore, Karnataka (India)
POSTED ON : Saturday, September 20, 2008 at 13:57:09
REVIEW : Even i had purchased tvs star city bike thinking of gud mileage, but believe me its usless. The milage is very less around 48kmp/ltr. Pls don go for this vehicle even it doesn't have any resale value. better go for hero honda.

Anandabalan

Chennai, Tamil Nadu (India)
POSTED ON : Friday, August 08, 2008 at 04:58:06
REVIEW : I have seen so many reviews from Internet and bike riders before taking my bike. It could be useful to take decision as per your needs. My Needs in Bike: Good comfortable height and weight. Good Mileage. I am a normal rider (not a rash driving) so do not need a bike which is more power like 150,160 and above cc. The bike should not get more stretch when pillion sits. It should have good suspension Good Looking (Its not mean that it should possess looks of stunner (from Honda)) Good Headlight beam. Mild engine sound. Good horn sound. Good Ground Clearance. Then I bought a Star city 110 cc bike on Wednesday (06-08-08) Sri Meenakshi Auto Agencies, Valasaravakkam, Chennai. The cost of the vehicle comes 45000/- on road and there was 2000 deduction through offer. Why Star City 110 cc when others: With my needs you can see the bike should be in the range of 100-125 cc with good mileage. Hero Honda: Splendor plus - passion plus. Bajaj : Platina, Discover -135 XCD Yamaha: Gladiator TVS: Star city, Flame. Honda : Stunner CBF, Shine. When asked suggestion for the bike for my need most of us said it is Splendor and passion and when I asked why they said that’s giving 1. Good Mileage 2. Second sale value. 3. Got Very good Name in India. (Brand) Personally I do not look for the 2nd reason and 3rd reason. Even if its good quality bike in india Todays most of the bikes like platina star xcd giving good mileage as HH. But look at the headlight, pass light , looks……etc.Hence I rejected HH. For my weight and height (62 & 168 CM) I cant go to Gladiator. For the spare parts issus I am not able to go to Honda shine and do not know the result of Honda stunner 125 cc(On road Rs 60500/-). Platina and Star city was my final filter and choosed beaces of this mild engine good graphics (Horse Symbol in graphichs) and design.

Brijesh Mandanna

Mysore, Karnataka (India)
POSTED ON : Wednesday, June 18, 2008 at 05:41:43
REVIEW : With 36,000 km on the odo my 2005 Star Deluxe is still doing great. Recently had rear tyre, headlamp bulb, rear tail light bulb replaced. Still bike feels rock solid with both engine and chassis doing good with no complaints. Poor quality swithgear has always been a complaint.

P.Balaji

Chennai, Tamilnadu (India)
POSTED ON : Thursday, May 15, 2008 at 04:34:25
REVIEW : Since I have purchased star city my vehicle No tn-05-9574 past 4 months back from Thayar Motor, Manali, frequently battery got charge down they not properly response

Roop Narayan Chouksey

Bhopal, MP (India)
POSTED ON : Monday, May 12, 2008 at 01:34:08
REVIEW : I bought a bike “TVS Star” in Bhopal. 4th day it was trembling and shaking like fuel is not there, while crossing 40km/h speed. Showroom servicemen told, it is defect from the company that they put a pin wrongly in engine, and he repaired. After a week same problem occurs again along with head mask vibrating. While complain in showroom, service men misbehave with me. Within 40 days, both barring of front while got broken. Thanks God I’m safe. Should I believe any more? Should I talk any risk more with your product? I’m sure that bike is completely defective pees.

Shahenshah100

Delhi, Delhi (India)
POSTED ON : Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 22:28:53
REVIEW : Very bogus bike. Very rough technology. Worst bike.

Manoj Kasar

Nashik, Maharashtra (India)
POSTED ON : Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 01:04:08
REVIEW : I have my Star City 110 CC Bike just 6 month ago I purchased. I got problem of Vobbling I took my bike to service center many times but service people didn't got the perfect solution till now. I m facing much more problems due to that. I m not happy with Star City Bike

Brham Prakash

Delhi (India)
POSTED ON : Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 01:18:51
REVIEW : Dear Customer care, I repaired my bike on 20/4/08 (Lost Bill) in K.K Auto-Mobiles F -37 DSIDC MTNL road nagloi new delhi-110041 Bill no is- KT326 JOB NO -1752 For increase my bike average Before repairing I getting 50 km /ltr .there he changed clutch plate & two front bearing , clutch outer wire But no improvement in average. (27/4/08) I again repaired in your service station than he changed complete piston ring & liner, nosiel , two push rod in drive test. I get 55 KM/ltr. But problem still continues. I spend 5000/- in two times but company commitment is 103 km/ltr. I checked my bike average in three day i get 53 km/ltr i am not satisfied to your service.
Make - Star City
Bike No- DL4SNB 1664
KM -26944

Neerav Nilabh

Gwalior, M. P. (India)
POSTED ON : Thursday, February 28, 2008 at 03:40:00
REVIEW : I am owning a starcity for 2years. everything is fine with the bike except two problems which are inherent in all tvs bikes
1. the cracker sound which comes from the silencer when the vehicle is moving in high speed. i have complained it manier times but could not find any solution to it.highly disappointing.
2.rear tyre skid very much which is quite strange rest the bike is worth its price

Raghu

Chennai, Tamilnadu (India)
POSTED ON : Monday, February 11, 2008 at 11:55:07
REVIEW : Really the STAR...

Arnold

Bangalore, Karnataka (India)
POSTED ON : Monday, February 04, 2008 at 14:05:35
REVIEW : This is Arnold from KATRIGUPPE sore, a proud owner of a TVS Star DLX 2005 model (Black) which has done more than 17,000 kms and still doing great. I frequently commute between mysore and madikeri(homeTown) and most of the stretch between madikeri and mysore (tortourus) is very bad, full of uneven surfaces and potholes, but this bike goes rock solid on this stretch thanks to 3.00 inch rear tyres, one of the reason why i bought this bike or else my other option was CT100 which comes with narrow tyres. The chassis can take on the toughest surface. I have tried taking the bike to the roughest surfaces many times and the bike has never disappointed me.
The second best part is the power plant and gearbox-very smooth! The engine gets smoother and smoother as the engine temperature builds. You can stay in 20Km/ph in 4th gear- good amount of torque, especially the 1st gear has lots of grunt and good space also. Although there are vibrations at speeds of more than 70km/hr. Also when shifting to 2nd gear there is knocking sound from gearbox. but then 3rd and 4th give you.
As far as the design goes the bike has nice tank shape with decent decals, i like the round headlamp and of course the rear finishing is good with nice tail lamp design and turn indicators glow bright.
WHAT I LIKE:
Engine & gearbox-smooth, Chassis -durability, Good seat, Overall design is good.
WHAT I DONT:
No fuel gauge, not even in star city range. Poor quality switch gear (I got changed once). Suggestion to fellow Star DLX owners- Be careful of the parts like chain guard, when you give your bike to service sometimes they get interchanged with other bikes of the star range as they all share the same chain guard.

Amit Kumar

Ludhiana, Punjab (India)
POSTED ON : Wednesday, November 21, 2007 at 00:36:30
REVIEW : RealyYour tvs star sports looks stylish but it does not have self start option in it which is main disadvantage of it.It also does not look solid like your star city.So you can add self to star sports and make its look solid. Its style is good but does not look solid.

Sanjay Sharma

New Delhi, Delhi (India)
POSTED ON : Sunday, October 07, 2007 at 06:46:23
REVIEW : Bad servicing,clutch problem, battery problem.

Prahlad Kumar Bhuyan

Guwahati, Assam (India)
POSTED ON : Wednesday, October 03, 2007 at 01:13:14
REVIEW
: Good bike for city and long drive like 200 km at single start..., good pickup , giving milage of 55 km/l, long. Thanks to TVS.

HARIBHAV PAWAR

(haribhavpawar@yahoo.com) Sangli, Maharastra (India)
POSTED ON : Friday, June 01, 2007 at 03:27:53
REVIEW
: THE TVS STAR BIKE IS A GOOD PERFORMANCE & GOOD MILAGE, GOOD PICUP, GOOD RIDING!!!

Rajakumar A

(Rajakumar071@yahoo.co.in) Chennai, Tamil Nadu (India)
POSTED ON : Tuesday, April 24, 2007 at 13:12:43
REVIEW
: TVS Star is probably the only bike that is tall enough to cross chennai roads in any rainy season (my experience). 68 km/ltr in city conditions. 76 km/ltr on long journeys. The most sturdy bike (I had the chance to Brake suddenly on three occassions and stopped exactly where i needed to). I dont know anything about the cost of spare parts as I have not changed anything in the past two years.

DHARMIK

(dharmikparekh@indiatimes.com) Ahmedabad, Gujarat (India)
POSTED ON : Tuesday, April 24, 2007 at 08:30:10
REVIEW
: I have TVS starcity,it is very good bike it has good milage and good average it is working on zero maintanance.

Sasi kumar.B

(bala.sasi1983@gmail.com) Chennai, Tamilnadu (India)
POSTED ON : Monday, April 23, 2007 at 04:40:46
REVIEW
: This is Very Very gud bike and gud milage but fuel indication is very bad because it indicate only above one (or)two liter petrol in tank. Below one liter in tank it indicat Empty.

Keerti

(Keerti_singh81@yahoo.co.in), Delhi (India)
POSTED ON : Monday, April 09, 2007 at 09:00:56
REVIEW
: Bike is good,but sometime it sounds very heavily, as if there is some problem in the engine. But after some time it come to the same point.Average is good. Max i got is 80 approx. Well one complaint is seat which is not very comfortable.

Suresh isave

(sgisave@yahoo.co.in), Pune, Maharashtra (India)
POSTED ON : Friday, March 30, 2007 at 12:54:04
REVIEW
: I am not satisfied with star city. I am getting average of just 50 km per ltr (company-102km!), which is very disappointing so as Dhoni in world cup. It may be due to bad servicing by authorised service station also.

Md. Khalid

(khalidmuz1@yahoo.com), New Delhi, Delhi (India)
POSTED ON : Wednesday, March 28, 2007 at 01:03:44
REVIEW : As per the engine capicity of Star City, almost all the things is ok except average that company advertise wrongly, as per the company book the milage is of 102 km/lt. But I am using my star city bike since october'2007 and never i found average above 55 km/ lt. However, i had to go through the service cnetre in respect of this problem but they did't took care properly. Still from the service center i am angry as they are co-operative in any respect only they want to make more and more money from customer. My service center is in Okhla indus. Area Ph. 2, New Delhi from where i have got services of my bike two times but never i found my bike regarding milage as it gives only 50 to 55 km per liter. So it makes me much angry with star city as i have bought with great purpose of Milage but the same i am not getting.

Balachandran

(ashoknic2770@yahoo.co.in), Kottayam, Kerala (India)
POSTED ON : Tuesday, February 20, 2007 at 04:56:52
REVIEW : One of my friend have owned a star city in 2006 January, now it showing some complaints, the first one is a sound from the inner part of the silencer that produce only at the time of accelaration at a particular mode,and it makes some sound from the nearest part of the gear lever. We purchased it from Arun Motors, Pala, Kottayam, Kerala. Two times we took the vehicle to the dealer but they failed to correct the complaints.

Sunil Yadav

(sunil.yadav@netxssolutions.com), Ahmedabad, Gujarat (India)
POSTED ON : Friday, February 02, 2007 at 00:09:25
REVIEW : This is a good bike.

Brijesh Mandanna

(brijesh_mandanna@yahoo.co.in), Mysore, Karnataka (India)
POSTED ON : Friday, December 01, 2006 at 14:45:44
REVIEW : This is Brijesh from Mysore, a proud owner of a TVS Star DLX 2005 model (Black) which has done more than 17,000 kms and still doing great.

I frequently commute between mysore and madikeri(homeTown) and most of the stretch between madikeri and mysore (tortourus) is very bad, full of uneven surfaces and potholes, but this bike goes rock solid on this stretch thanks to 3.00 inch rear tyres, one of the reason why i bought this bike or else my other option was CT100 which comes with narrow tyres. The chassis can take on the toughest surface. I have tried taking the bike to the roughest surfaces many times and the bike has never disappointed me.

The second best part is the power plant and gearbox-very smooth! The engine gets smoother and smoother as the engine temperature builds. You can stay in 20Km/ph in 4th gear- good amount of torque, especially the 1st gear has lots of grunt and good space also. Although there are vibrations at speeds of more than 70km/hr. Also when shifting to 2nd gear there is knocking sound from gearbox. but then 3rd and 4th give you.

As far as the design goes the bike has nice tank shape with decent decals, i like the round headlamp and of course the rear finishing is good with nice tail lamp design and turn indicators glow bright.

WHAT I LIKE:
Engine & gearbox-smooth, Chassis -durability, Good seat, Overall design is good.

WHAT I DONT:
No fuel gauge, not even in star city range. Poor quality switch gear (I got changed once). Suggestion to fellow Star DLX owners- Be careful of the parts like chain guard, when you give your bike to service sometimes they get interchanged with other bikes of the star range as they all share the same chain guard.

Pullela

(ppvsin@yahoo.co.in), Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh (India)
POSTED ON : Tuesday, October 17, 2006 at 03:51:09
REVIEW : What a great Product by TVS MOTORS. It is far better in all ways when compared with other bikes in 100cc segment and some other bikes in 125cc also. People who don't fall in media hype and who cares value for money should love owing this superb bike.

Mansoor Hussain

(hindustan_automobiles786@rediffmail.com), Bikaro, Jharkhand (India)
POSTED ON : Monday, October 09, 2006 at 14:08:24
REVIEW : TVS Star is just like a super bike.

Santosh

(santoshpin@yahoo.com), Mumbai, Maharashtra (India)
POSTED ON : Friday, September 29, 2006 at 06:43:56
REVIEW : There is no fuel Indicator.

Raj

POSTED ON : 3/9/2006
REVIEW : Superb bike!! amazing pickup!! great mileage - 60 kmpl, powerful engine, rides like a dream....!!!

Karthik S

POSTED ON : 30/7/2006
REVIEW : This bike is good in looks,handling (Splendid for zooming through city traffic) and fuel efficiency (55kmpl).I own one.

Francis Placidus

POSTED ON : 26/7/2006
REVIEW : Hopeless bike.Hopeless service.The bike wobbles and feels like it would skid, while negotiating a curve.Complaint present since it was bought.

Raghu

POSTED ON : 11/3/2006
REVIEW : Good Bike. Decent pickup and good control. Really needs a Tuffup tube for back tyre

Jagran

POSTED ON : 29/11/2005
REVIEW : Pros:
1. Good looking.
2. Good suspension.
3. Great handling.
4. Good riding posture.
5. Good brakes
Cons:
1. Engine vibration.
2. Mirror positioning.
3. Gear shifting.


Indiamart

Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - Link to Us

Copyright © 1996-2014 IndiaMART InterMESH Ltd. All rights reserved.